Regional Water Planning Summary

Associated Documents:

The regional water planning councils (Councils) represent regions in Georgia as designated in the State Water Plan and adjusted by approved petition. Each Council consists of individuals appointed by the Governor, Lt. Governor, and Speaker of the House. The Metropolitan North Georgia Regional Water Planning District is a separate water planning entity that will participate in the planning process consistent with the State Water Plan and its enabling legislation.

The operation of each council will be defined in a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between the council, EPD, and the Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA). These agreements will establish how each council conducts its affairs including the procedures for decision-making such as voting mechanisms and provisions for advisory bodies including one of local elected officials in the region who will provide input on regional population, economic and employment forecasts and on plan elements that impact the fiscal responsibilities of local governments.

Read more about Regional Water Planning in the Regional Water Planning Summary Sheet.

Coosa - North Georgia Middle Chattahoochee Metro North Georgia Savannah - Upper Ogeechee Upper Flint Middle Ocmulgee Upper Oconee Lower Flint - Ochlockonee Suwannee - Satilla Altamaha Coastal Georgia